Karabetsos to lead Greek volleyball through to 2024

English ,

Former FIVB International Referee elected for second term at helm of National Federation

Athens, Greece, April 28, 2021 - Georgios Karabetsos will lead Greek volleyball for another term, following elections on Saturday evening that returned him as President of the Hellenic Volleyball Federation. His mandate now runs to 2024.

The General Assembly and elections, which were originally planned for last year but were postponed following the rescheduling of the Olympic cycle due to the Covid-19 pandemic, were held virtually due to lockdown restrictions in Greece with electronic voting.

A total of 274 out of 276 eligible took part, with Karabetsos getting 69.7% of the vote or 191 of ballots cast.

"I would like to welcome the new members who join us in the administration of the Hellenic Volleyball Federation," said Karabetsos following the elections. "All together we will strive for the common goal which is to improve the positions of our National Teams internationally, the upgrading of the National competitions under our wing and the development of the sport."

"Furthermore, I would like to thank all those that honoured me with their vote," added the former international referee who wound up an outstanding career at the London 2012 Olympic Games. "It was a vote of confidence following a difficult first term and in the midst of this unprecedented health crisis that has hit hard our sport, the greater sporting community and society in general."

His opponent for the presidency, Michalis Triantafyllidis, a legendary star of the National Team and Olympiacos Piraeus in the 1980s and 1990s and bronze medallist of the 1987 European Championship, collected 80 ballots.

Of the 21 members of the board, former National Team coach Kostas Charitonidis received the most votes with 161.

Another former international referee, Themis Kalpaktsouglou, presided over the proceedings after being elected chairman of the General Assembly.

Mr. Karabetsos was also elected as a member at the Hellenic Olympic Committee board.

Σχετικά Άρθρα